The things you learn when you travel with others (part 2)

A few weeks and a therapy session later, it was time to finalize travel details.  Click here for Part 1.

[The following is edited lightly for brevity and clarity]


From: Me
Sent: Friday, June 12, 2015 11:13 AM
To: Blair, Marcy, Cody
Subject: Woodstock wedding weekend

Hey guys — now that we’re all clear that I’m participating in the potluck as a favor to Leela and not in lieu of a gift like a cheap bastard, can we discuss what we’re going to do for food Friday night/Saturday during the day before the wedding?

I’ll probably want to stay at the house Saturday morning to cook/clean/study, etc. so I’ll pack some oatmeal/tea for myself [happy to pack extra for others if you’re interested!] ​What were you guys thinking for Friday night/Saturday day?

Also, I think we’re all sorted for transportation, but I just wanted to confirm:

Blair/Jeff, Cody/Carmen heading up Friday midday.

Marcy, Chad and I heading up Friday around 5pm. Marcy, can you let me know what time train and what stop to get off at and where to meet you guys? I’m going to apologize in advance for being rude but if I can get a seat on the train, I’ll probably just study. Super. Fun.tfif

Sunday morning: Blair, Jeff, Marcy and me — is that right?

Sorry — you guys know I have trouble keeping up!


mysterymanFrom: Blair
Sent: Friday, June 12, 2015 11:28 AM
To: Marcy, Me, Cody

Wassup y’all!

[Me], I dont think any of us thought you were being cheap, just speaking on behalf of myself I just felt like having to make a huge meal to bring to the wedding was going to be a nightmare for me so I opted to contribute wine, i took the easy/selfish way out.

Besides all that noise, we’ll get some basics, coffee, creamer, eggs, butter, toast, crackers, fruit…open for everyone to share. Wedding at 4:30 sat so we’ll have to figure some other food for lunch but we can run to store if we dont plan in adv.

Wanted to take advantage of the place with a long weekend, kids will sleep over Jeff’s parents.

Send me a text of what you need me to get for your potluck, its not a big deal for me to get you some canned goods!

Way home you guys are totally welcome, whatever you need. Won’t be late, it’s fathers day. Jeff and i are leaving around 1pm Friday and will open the house. Cody and Carmen should be closely behind us.


mysterymanFrom: Marcy
Sent: Friday, June 12, 2015 11:33 AM
To: Me, Blair, Cody

Blair, Chad is going to drop me at my sister’s in Hackensack on Sunday AM – so I don’t need to come with you guys anymore.

Cant commit to a train time until the day off unfort – it’s all going to be dependent on both mine and Chad’s work days. Trains to Stamford run every 10-15 min. As you know you are more than welcome to tag along, but you may want to ask Leela if she has any other friends driving from Manhattan to avoid having to do our run-around to pick up the car in CT and then eventually make our way up to Woodstock. No guarantees we make it in time for dinner, you know?

I’ve already created my fresh direct order for bottles of vino for the wedding and for the house and ingredients for GUAC and chips to have on Saturday and a bunch of assorted apples as snacks.



From: Me
Sent: Friday, June 12, 2015 4:02 PM
To: Marcy, Blair, Cody

Wait — Marcy, are you freshdirecting right to the house? If you’re doing that, maybe I can and not have to have anyone shop for me? Sorry, I misunderstood that one! P actually requested chana masala — I guess it’s a fave of hers? Anyway, it’s luckily pretty easy to make. Blair, I’ll text you later and thank you thank you!

Eek, I don’t want to bother Leela about finding a carpooler, especially right now. She and Mitch are heading upstate tomorrow and apparently the forecast for next Saturday is rain and more rain. Ugh. Marcy – you and I work near each other, so I’m fine playing it “bytfifthe ear” [as my mom would say]. I had no idea trains ran that frequently. I’m flexible, don’t mind how late we get there, just looking forward to some good company and tzatziki.


mysterymanFrom: Marcy
Sent: Friday, June 12, 2015 4:33 PM
To: Me, Blair, Cody

FreshDirect does not deliver to Woodstock – ordering to my apt and bringing in bags. Heavy, but easy enough!



mysterymanFrom: Cody
Sent: Wednesday, June 17, 2015 11:38 AM
To: Me, Blair, Marcy

[Me] instead of lugging cans, maybe you can purchase them here? Unless you have a specific brand you always use.

http://www.boicevillemarket.com/index.jsp

5 min away from the Barn


[head hits desk]

[muffled groan]


From: Me
Sent: Wednesday, June 17, 2015 12:01 PM
To: Blair, Marcy, Cody

tfifEveryone else was lugging, so I went shopping over the weekend and bought all the cans. I also did a little prep so all my ingredients are ready to go, and all I should need to do at the house before cooking is cut an onion 🙂 But thanks anyway! And good to know it’s there in case we need to pick up any other supplies.


Well, at least that’s all squared away!

On to Part 3

3 thoughts on “The things you learn when you travel with others (part 2)”

Leave a Reply

